Myanmar COVID19 Travel Restrictions


On 2/6/2020 the Myanmar government announced all all foreigners flying into Myanmar have to quarantine for 21-day. Click here to read the full article.


22/4/2020 – the Ministry of Health & Sports (MOHS) announced that all foreign visitors entering Myanmar and patients that have tested positive for COVID19 will quarantine for 28-day comprising of 21-day community based facility quarantine or hotel quarantine followed by 7-day home quarantine.

29/3/2020 – the Myanmar Department of Civil Aviation (DCA) announced that starting 30/3/2020 2359 hrs to 13/4/2020 2359 hrs all landing permissions by international commercial passenger flights at all Myanmar airports will be suspended.

24/3/2020 –  All foreign nationals are required to present laboratory evidence of absence of COVID19 infection issued no more than 72 hours prior to the date of travel before boarding any airline destined for Myanmar. All visitors (including Myanmar nationals) will be subjected to mandatory facility quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.

20/3/2020 – The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) announced the temporary suspension of all visa-on-arrival and e-visa for all countries until 30/4/2020.

18/3/2020 – The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) announced the closure of all border checkpoints to foreign tourists as a preventative measure against the corona virus. This with includes all land crossings with Thailand, China, India and Laos.

15/3/2020 – The Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) announced that all incoming travelers, including Myanmar citizens, who have been in Korea, Italy, Iran, France, Spain or Germany in the past 14 days will be placed in government quarantine facilities or home quarantine for 14 days upon arrival. Travelers who have been in the United States or China in the past 14 days will be put under surveillance for 14 days.

All travellers will be required to present medical certificate, from a recognised health authority, of not having symptom of acute respiratory sickness, before boarding flights heading to Myanmar.

Foreign nationals who have been in high-risk areas such as China’s Hubei Province and South Korea’s Daegu and Gyeongbuk Region in the past 14 days will not be allowed to enter Myanmar until further notice. Myanmar citizens arriving from these high-risk areas will be subject to a 14-day quarantine in government facilities.